Sending kindness in good old-fashioned Thank You note cards

I still enjoy sending real cards in the mail. So today’s design is a good old-fashioned Thank You note card… and today I’m also sending thanks for being chosen for an award!

I’ve received the Stylish Blogger Award!!

A great big Thank You to the very expressive Scriptorobscura for honoring me with this award. But just what is the Stylish Blogger Award you ask?

It’s a special appreciation passed on from one blogger to another. The standard for accepting the award is simple: 1) Thank and link back to the person who gave you the award. 2) Share 7 things about yourself to your readers. 3) Pay it forward to other great blogs. 4) Contact these bloggers to tell them about their award.

Here’s a few things about me, with a random photo sampling of things I like:

I grew up in Southern California, and discovered early on that the beach is my happy place. That’s me at about 3 years old on a styrofoam surfboard, pre boogie board era.

I gave up drinking coffee, and now my favorite is caffeine-free Tulsi tea by Organic India.

I’ve done some fun things out enjoying nature with my adventurous husband. Perhaps most spectacular of all: last fall we kayaked with the giant Blue Whales!

I love black olives, but when I was young we had them only for special occasions. Now I keep black olives in the fridge at all times, and eat at will… often and with great joy :~)

The macro views of nature fascinate me, so I tend to take lots of close-up photos. I love the symmetry, the order and chaos, the texture, subtlety and color.

Homegrown Double Delight is my favorite rose. My blog header was created from the petals of this rose pictured on the left. I took this photo the day I decided to create Inspired Type and start blogging.

Lastly, I have this thing about taking photos of my feet. It’s like capturing a moment when I say to myself “I’m so amazed and happy I’m actually here in this beautiful place”.

And now, to pass the award on to some great stylish blogs!

I’d like to give the Stylish Blogger Award to these wonderfully unique bloggers, showcasing that both visual and written style comes in many different forms. Please take a few minutes to go check them out, they’re all really special:

Thank you my dear readers for this opportunity to share a bit about myself, and to share these blogs with you. I hope you’ve enjoyed this little journey outside of my usual design postings. As always, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

(Here’s the larger desktop version.)

About Sue Alexander | Inspired Type

I'm Sue Alexander, the creator of Inspired Type — a place to find good thoughts in designs that you can share — spread inspiration.
This entry was posted in gratitude, nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sending kindness in good old-fashioned Thank You note cards

  1. Hi Sue, Wow! What a surprise to receive your email to find
    out my blog received a Stylish Blogger Award. Thank you for
    recognizing the The BridgeMaker community and for your kind support
    – it’s sincerely appreciated! Alex

  2. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Wow, what a beautiful Thank You note card! I love it :)
    You always create the most beautiful designs!

  3. Zeenat says:

    Oh wow! You went kayaking with the giant Blue Whales!!! That’s something I am most amazed by.
    Plus Stylish Blogger Award…!! Really you think I’m stylish…I have been know to be nice and very talkative…and yes maybe even jolly..but stylish naa….So this is a first for me..and I am so so honored to be in such lovely company :)
    Thank you! Thank you!
    I love your eye for beauty…the pictures are amazing!
    So Much Love to you,
    Z~

  4. Hilary says:

    Hi Sue .. great post – I spend a lot of time writing personal notes .. and boy are they appreciated. My mother loves getting letters which I read to her .. they keep us both going – hence why I write out!

    Love your ability with the techie bits and artistic whizz .. would love to do that – one day I’ll have sometime to give things a go ..

    Congratulations on being a Stylish …!! Brilliant news .. and I love your photos .. cheers Hilary

    • Hi Hilary ~ That’s wonderful that letters can give you and your mother something to enjoy together. Thank you for sharing and I appreciate your kind thoughts! Happy day to you :~)

  5. Lori says:

    Hi Sue, Thanks so much! I appreciate that you thought of
    Tiny Buddha for this award =) I was familiar with a couple of these
    other wonderful blogs, but others are new to me. I look forward to
    checking them out! Lori

  6. I always enjoy reading on Tiny Buddha. You’re a real inspiration and truly a remarkable online presence. Thank you! :-)

  7. Sandra Lee says:

    Hello Sue,

    Another beautiful design! I am so excited each week to see what’s next. I totally loved the photo glimpse into you and your life. I especially enjoyed seeing the rose that birthed the petals for your header design, which is so unique and beautiful. Nice feet too!

    Thank you for honoring me with the Stylish Blogger award. You really made my day. It’s a special treat to receive this award from a designer with such an eye and appreciation for beauty in beauty and visual style. I’ve already paid a visit to the Gardener’s Eden and A Certain Simplicity. Operation Nice is next. Thanks for turning us on to new and beautiful positive blogs.

    I’m so glad to have connected with you. You are special indeed!

    • Good to hear you liked my random photos — it’s not every day I get an excuse to share my silly feet in the Bahamas! And I am so happy to have connected with you too. Your posts always inspire me, and you’ve helped me discover many other inspiring people.

      I’m energized knowing that you’re enjoying seeing each new design. Your kindness is a beautiful gift… thank you!

  8. Hi Sue,
    Lucky you growing up near the ocean and all! Lucky you! I’m all for thank you cards with a hand written note. It was my birthday last week and my daughters all gave me wonderful gifts. I’m getting my thank you cards in the mail today. I think any kind of hand written note makes one stand out because very few send them.

    I love your photos. You’re so talented!

  9. Hi Sue, Your blog is beautiful. I’m loving all the
    photography and the lovely notecard at the top. I adore writing
    notes to people and mailing them. It is such a treat these days to
    receive a hand written note.

  10. My wife (Kathy) always sends out a large number of thank
    you cards when she returns from a business trip. She is always on
    the lookout for beautiful thank you cards. She handwrites (it helps
    to have beautiful legible handwriting) a note on each card in green
    ink and uses beautiful old postage stamps to enhance the mailing
    piece. It’s really a treat to get a thank you from Kathy.
    Riley

  11. Hi Riley!
    How wonderful to add that special touch of green ink and beautiful stamps! What an honor to receive such a treasured note. Good to hear from you again ~ and happy day to you both!

  12. Hello Sue, Thank you for including The Gardener’s Eden in your list of stylish blogs. Your work is lovely! What a pretty site you have here.
    xo
    Michaela

    • Hi Michaela ~ I love gardening and your site is one of my newly discovered favorites. Thank you for your kindness ~ I’m so happy you like my designs!
      Happy growing :~)

  13. Sylvia says:

    I’m brand new to your site and not only have I discovered you but you have introduced me to The Bridgemaker (I just left a comment there too)! Two wonderful blogs I will be visiting often.

    • Welcome ~ I’m so happy you found Inspired Type! It’s good to hear that I was able to introduce you to a blog that resonates with you. Alex at The Bridgemaker is truly inspiring.
      Happy day to you!

  14. Hi Sue, I love how you blended the text with pictures to
    better capture your point. I noticed that we have some things in
    common. I live in southern California, I don’t drink coffee, and I
    love Tulsi tea. When I was in India we visited the Organic India
    farm in two occasions. In each occasion, we a gorgeous satsang with
    one of the owners of Organic India, a student of Papaji and a very
    wise man. His enlightening words are burned in mind forever. Thanks
    for reminding of this cherished memory. Loving blessings

    • Hi Andrea ~ So we are sisters in Tulsi love! My mind and body really responds well to the adaptogenic qualities of Tulsi. After trying many different teas, including a long stint with green tea, I’ve found Tulsi to be both calming and energizing… It’s pretty amazing stuff. Happy to see it sparked a cherished memory. I will remember this when I pour my next cup :~)

  15. Penny says:

    Beautiful thank you notes. You have a talent for design –
    They are inspirational and say wonders in only a few words. You
    were a cute little girl-love the starfoam floatboard. The beach
    holds many thoughts and wonders, as we listen to the waves.
    :)

  16. bigskylifecoach says:

    Hi Sue. I really enjoyed reading this post, and had to
    chuckle about the olives! I grew up in a family of seven and olives
    were ONLY for holidays….black olives are my FAVORITE! I, too,
    keep my pantry and fridge stocked with them. Oh, the simple things
    in life, huh? I am new to your site and am loving what I see. I
    will return! Jen

  17. Diane says:

    Hey Sue … love the beach (and olive) memories, enjoy this beautiful day sis. Hugs, Diane

    • Hi Di ~ We’re so lucky to share those old memories, playing in the waves and making sand castles together. Here’s to those good times, and to all the new memories yet to come. Love and hugs back, Sue :~)

Leave a Reply

